Close this search box.

Oscars 2024: ‘The Boy and the Heron’ and ‘Godzilla Minus One’ bag the best animated feature film and VFX awards respectively

At the 96th Academy Awards, the animated feature film category saw The Boy and the Heron, directed by Studio Ghibli’s Hayao Miyazaki, clinching the Oscar for Best Animated Feature Film. The film, known as Kimitachi wa Do Ikiruka in Japan (translated as How Do You Live), triumphed over competitors Elemental, Nimona, Robot Dreams, and Spider-Man: Across The Spider-Verse.

In the animated short film category, War Is Over! Inspired by the Music of John & Yoko took home the award, while Godzilla Minus One won in the visual effects category.

Here’s a rundown of some of the winners and nominees across various categories:

Actor in a Leading Role:

  • Winner: Cillian Murphy for Oppenheimer

Actor in a Supporting Role:

  • Winner: Robert Downey Jr. for Oppenheimer

Actress in a Leading Role:

  • Winner: Emma Stone for Poor Things

Actress in a Supporting Role:

  • Winner: Da’vine Joy Randolph for The Holdovers


  • Winner: Hoyte Van Hoytema for Oppenheimer

Costume Design:

  • Winner: Holly Waddington for Poor Things


  • Winner: Christopher Nolan for Oppenheimer

Documentary Feature Film:

  • Winner: 20 Days In Mariupol

Documentary Short Film:

  • Winner: The Last Repair Shop

Film Editing:

  • Winner: Jennifer Lame for Oppenheimer

International Feature Film:

  • Winner: The Zone Of Interest (from the United Kingdom)

Makeup and Hairstyling:

  • Winner: Nadia Stacey, Mark Coulier, and Josh Weston for Poor Things

Music (Original Score):

  • Winner: Ludwig Göransson for Oppenheimer

Music (Original Song):

  • Winner: “What Was I Made For?” from Barbie, by Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell

Best Picture:

  • Winner: Oppenheimer

Production Design:

  • Winner: James Price and Shona Heath for Poor Things


  • Winner: Tarn Willers and Johnnie Burn for The Zone Of Interest

Writing (Adapted Screenplay):

  • Winner: Cord Jefferson for American Fiction

Writing (Original Screenplay):

  • Winner: Justine Triet and Arthur Harari for Anatomy Of A Fall

The 96th Oscars ceremony took place at the Dolby Theatre at Ovation Hollywood on March 10, 2024, and was broadcast live on ABC and various platforms worldwide.

Leave a Replay


Recent Posts

Enquire Now

Sign up for our Newsletter


This site uses cookies for an enhanced browsing experience, as per our privacy policy.